North Korea agrees to disable its main nuclear reactor

North Korea has agreed to disable its main nuclear reactor in Yongbyon and to give complete details of its nuclear program by December 31, 2007, and “not to transfer nuclear materials, technology or know-how,” according to a statement issued in Beijing.
The agreement was reached as a result of negotiations involving six nations: China, the United States, Japan, Russia, North Korea, and South Korea. As a result, the United States said that it would work with North Korea to remove it from the U.S. list of terrorism sponsors. U.S. President George W. Bush welcomed the announcement. Bush spokesman Gordon Johndroe called North Korea’s pledge “a major step towards the goal of achieving the verifiable denuclearization of the Korean peninsula.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: