2008 Nepalese presidential election

Ram Baran Yadav of the Nepali Congress party wins Nepal’s presidential election, defeating Ram Raja Prasad Singh of the Communist Party (Maoist).

An indirect presidential election was held in Nepal on 19 July 2008 with a presidential run-off set on 21 July. The Nepalese Constituent Assembly (CA) elected in April 2008 will elect a new President and Vice-President after the Fifth Amendment to the Interim Constitution was passed on July 14. This would be the first President to be elected after Nepal became a republic a few months earlier.

In the newly passed amendment, the majority party will form the government, the CA will elect the new President on the basis of majority and a new provision that the Opposition Leader will be a member of the Constitutional Council.


%d bloggers like this: