Herman Van Rompuy was sworn in as PM

The Van Rompuy I Government is the new federal government of Belgium since 30 December 2008. It took office when the Flemish Christian democrat Herman Van Rompuy (CD&V) was sworn in as Prime Minister after the Leterme I government had fallen on 22 December 2008.


Herman Van Rompuy

On 19 December 2008, Yves Leterme offered the resignation of his government to King Albert after a crisis surrounding the sale of Fortis to BNP Paribas erupted.

Leterme, Jo Vandeurzen, and Didier Reynders were accused of violating the separation of powers by trying to influence the Court of Appeals and of exerting improper influence by the First Chairman of the Court of Cassation. Three days later the resignation was accepted by the king.

The Van Rompuy I government still needs to receive the confidence of the Chamber of Representatives to be official, which will be voted on Friday 2 January 2009.

The Van Rompuy I Government comprised 15 ministers and seven secretaries of state. Its initial composition is as follows:

Minister Name Party
Prime Minister Herman Van Rompuy CD&V
Deputy Prime Minister – Finance and Institutional Reforms Didier Reynders MR
Deputy Prime Minister – Social Affairs and Public Health Laurette Onkelinx PS
Deputy Prime Minister – Foreign Affairs Karel De Gucht Open Vld
Deputy Prime Minister – Civil Service and Public Enterprise Steven Vanackere CD&V
Deputy Prime Minister – Employment and Equal Opportunities Joëlle Milquet CDH
Justice Stefaan De Clerck CD&V
SMEs, the Self-employed, Agriculture and Science Policy Sabine Laruelle MR
Social Integration, Pensions and Large Cities Marie Arena PS
Defence Pieter De Crem CD&V
Climate and Energy Paul Magnette PS
Development Cooperation Charles Michel MR
Interior Guido De Padt Open Vld
Enterprise and Simplification Vincent Van Quickenborne Open Vld
Migration and Asylum Policy Annemie Turtelboom Open Vld
Secretary of State Name Party
Mobility (Prime Minister) Etienne Schouppe CD&V
Coordination of the Fight against Fraud (Prime Minister) Carl Devlies CD&V
Finance (Finance) Bernard Clerfayt MR
Preparation of the European Presidency (Foreign Affairs) Olivier Chastel MR
Fight against Poverty (Social Integration, Pensions and Large Cities) Jean-Marc Delizée PS
Disabled Persons (Social Affairs and Public Health) Julie Fernandez-Fernandez PS
Budget (Prime Minister) and Family Policy (Employment) Melchior Wathelet Jr. CDH


2008/12/28 – Belgian PM resign over Fortis sale

2008/03/20 – Belgian coalition delivers government

Tags: ,

%d bloggers like this: