On this day April 16, 2003

The Treaty of Accession was signed in Athens, admitting ten new member states, including several countries of the former Eastern Bloc, into the European Union.

Newly countries in light green

Newly countries in light green

The Treaty was the agreement between the European Union and ten countries (Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovenia, Slovakia), concerning these countries accession into the EU.

At the same time it changed a number of points which were originally laid down in the Treaty of Nice.

The treaty was signed on 16 April 2003 in Athens, Greece and it entered into force on 1 May 2004, the day of the enlargement of the European Union.

The European Union comprises a large number of overlapping legal structures which is a result of it being defined by successive international treaties. The Treaty of Accession 2003 modifies:

  • the Treaty of Rome (establishing the European Economic Community),
  • the Treaty of Rome (establishing the European Atomic Energy Community)
  • the Maastricht Treaty (establishing the European Union)

as well as other acts which together form the current legal framework of the European Union.


Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: