Archive | Palau RSS for this section

Johnson Toribiong is elected President of Palau

The Palauan presidential election was held as  on November 4, 2008. It was won by Johnson Toribiong. Incumbent President Tommy Remengesau was ineligible to run because he has served the maximum two terms allowed.

This was the first presidential election in Palau’s history in which presidential candidates are running with declared vice-presidential candidates. In past elections the President and Vice-Presidents were elected separately, and the winners of those elections served as a “national leadership team”. Read More…