Archive | Lebanon RSS for this section

Lebanon forms unity government with Hezbollah

Lebanese political leaders have agreed to the formation of a 30-member national unity government, in which paramilitary group Hezbollah and its political allies hold effective veto power in the new cabinet. The announcement came seven weeks after the Doha Agreement, which ended an 18-month-long political crisis in Lebanon.

Prime Minister Fouad Siniora of new cabinet

Prime Minister Fouad Siniora

A decree announcing the cabinet was signed by Prime Minister Fouad Siniora and President Michel Suleiman. Of the 30 member cabinet, 11 seats were given to the pro-Syria, Hezbollah-led opposition, fulfilling a promise of at least one third of the cabinet and giving them the power to veto legislation.

The ruling coalition appointed 16 cabinet members, and President Suleiman chose the remaining three.

Only one of the 11 opposition ministers, Labor Minister Mohammad Fneish, is from Hezbollah.

The rest are from the organization’s Shi’a, Druze and Christian allies. The opposition also secured the coveted posts of Foreign Minister, Telecommunications Minister, and Deputy Premier. Read More…

Bush confident of Lebanon new president

Michel Suleiman officially became the President of Lebanon Sunday 25 as a conclusion was reached in a series of events that resulted in the election be delayed by over a year.

General Michel Sleiman ميشال سليمان‎ (born November 21, 1948) before assuming office as President, held the position of commander of the Lebanese Armed Forces. After LAF commander Émile Lahoud took office as president in November of 1998, Sleiman succeeded him as army commander from December of the same year. The post of LAF commander is reserved for a Maronite Christian. Read More…

Fighting in Lebanon

Over thirty people have died as a result of several days of fighting in Lebanon, with the latest violence having occurred in the Lebanese city of Tripoli.

The violence is the result of conflict between Hezbollah and supporters of the Lebanese government. Read More…