Archive | Vanuatu RSS for this section

Iolu Abil elected as Vanuatu’s President

Iolu Abil is sworn in as President of Vanuatu following the Vanuatuan presidential election, 2009.



Eleven candidates, including two women, stood in the first round of the election on 1 September 2009 (fifteen had filed, but four of them were not eligible to stand).

Vincent Boulekone won 16 votes, Mataskelekele won 14 votes and Iolu Abil won 11 votes. Kalo Nial and female candidate Yvette Sam both won seven votes. Read More…